Mesh Analysis: Simple to advanced tutorials for all students Part-2

Part-2

This article is the 2nd part of our series Mesh Analysis: Simple to advanced tutorials for all students. For next parts to study, check the related topics with this post.

In previous Part-1 we have calculated the values of two mesh currents as follows –

I1 = -0.5Amp and I2 = 3Amp

The value of I1 came out negative, because we had taken its direction as clockwise. Now we shall again solve the problem with the same network, given below, but now we shall take the direction of I1 as anticlockwise.

mesh analysis
Now the direction of I1 is reversed in this network.

Now we shall see that the value of I1 also comes out to be positive with I2 also, as given below.

Step#1

Here I1 is flowing through the loop (a-d-c-b-a) in anticlockwise direction while I2 is flowing through the loop (b-e-f-c-b) in anticlockwise direction.

So the equation for current I1, in this loop, is given by –

4 + R2.(I1 – I2) + 2.I1 = 0 … Here I1 & I2 are opposite to each other and we are calculating for I1. So we have taken the term (I1 – I2).

i.e. 4 + 2.(I1 – I2) + 2.I1 = 0

4.I1 – 2.I2 = (-4) … (1)

Step#2

Now in the same way, we shall obtain equation for second loop i.e. for (b-e-f-c-b) loop, as follows –

2.(I2 – I1) + (-8) + I2 = 0 … Here we are calculating for I2. So we have taken the term (I2 – I1).

∴ -2.I1 + 3.I2 = 8 … (2)

Now solving equations (1) and (2) using simultaneous equation method. For that we shall multiply equation (1) by ‘3’ and equation (2) by ‘2’, as follows –

12.I1 – 6.I2 = -12 … (1)

-4.I1 + 6.I2 = 16 … (2)

That gives us the following –

8.I1 = 4

∴ I1 = 0.5Amp … Now this value is positive and so the direction of I1 is correct.
In the same way if we calculate the current I2, then it will come out as I2 = 3Amp.

Please let me know, how did you like these posts. If you really liked them, I would like to know your feedback, which will help me analyse my writing for more posts on Mesh Analysis.

Read Part-1 | Read Part-3

2 thoughts on “Mesh Analysis: Simple to advanced tutorials for all students Part-2

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.